History of Commander Genius

All discussion about the Commander Genius project (a Keen interpreter + more).
gerstrong
Vorticon Elite

History of Commander Genius

Post by gerstrong »

It started about December 2008, when I was looking for some interesting games for Linux. Since 2006 I use Linux as my main system and I being a big fan of Commander Keen and knowing that there were a lot of cool interpreters like for Doom, Duke 3D, Quake, etc. one day I started to deep search in the net for what existed for Commander Keen. It was pretty disappointing I have to say, very sad.

One day I came across this CloneKeen. Having seen the source code I tried to build it and succeeded. I have to say, that I have been a programmer since then, but not a good one. I had worked on some projects for universities and though I started with standard C as a kid, I needed more practice on bigger projects.

Anyway, I got excited when I had some sources on the hand, were I could play Commander Keen 1-3. Yeah, no galaxy, that also disappointed me, because those were my favorite games. Those were the first games I played when I got my first IBM Computer. I really loved the crisp graphics and as kid I loved more Keen 4-6 for that reason, but well I got over it and playing Keen 1-3 was CloneKeen also nice.

What I especially didn't understand is why there wasn't a version like Keen 4 that supported gravis gamepad. To this date I stand by that, I prefer 4 button gamepad at least for playing Keen. I know other fan think, it is not that original. So I enhanced CloneKeen to support that and even be able to add music, have stereo sound and what already had CloneKeen 2 Player mode, mind blowing! But I always kept in mind, that some people don't want that, so it was added as option.

I tried to contact the original developer Caitlin Shaw and work together with her to extend that awesome interpreter. CloneKeen had a lot of flaws back then.