The best mod ever made.

You can discuss anything about fan-made Commander Keen games here.
Dynamo
Vorticon Elite

The best mod ever made.

Post by Dynamo »

No, this is not a poll about which mod you think is the best ever :crazy

Now that school is over I have plenty of free time, and I was convinced by Mink and Tulip to enter the world of commander keen modding. I promised one year ago I would get around to make my own mod sometime in the future... and the time has arrived. Though this is not really a mod, but rather a level pack. It will feature no new graphics and possibly not even a patch file. This is my first attempt to map for commander keen so my maps might not be at the same level of Keen X but I'll try to do my best. I decided to call the level pack The best mod ever made, and use Keen 2 as the base.

This mod focuses on the gameplay and not really on extremely good looking maps. I played many keen mods and I always felt... There was something missing. Most of the hard mods in fact seem to focus on hard jumping puzzles and various hazards of this kind. However I want to take a different approach. While in order to beat smile you have to master the art of jumping, here you will need to know very well how to fight enemies, because there will be MANY enemies to kill. There will be enough ammo to kill everyone in the level but ammo will be your least problem. I'm trying to making the maps as hard and less repetitive as possible so this will be a rather challenging mod for keeners of any skill level.

Story:

You wake up in the middle of a weird space station with a strange looking gun in your hands. For some reason you don't see things through your eyes anymore but rather like if you were playing that game called Super Mario Bros only it's real. Your mission is to infiltrate this space station and find out what your mission is, and then send an angry letter to the mapper madman that sent you in this place.